Arts and Entertainment

PONCHO honors artist of year, merit winners

Judith Kindler has been named 2009 PONCHO Artist of the Year.

The $5,000 sward is given annually to an artist who not only exhibits excellence in the mastery of their chosen medium, but also demonstrates community involvement and leadership. Kindler is a multidisciplinary artist working in sculpture, installation, and photo-based mixed media work embedded in encaustic.

The award will be given at PONCHO’s 8th Annual Invitational Fine Art Auction tonight at the Sheraton Seattle Hotel.

In addition, judges gave 25 Merit Awards for artistic excellence. This year’s winners are: Fred Birchman, Ken Kelly, Benjamin Moore, Joey Veltkamp, Jaq Chartier, Doug Keyes, Susanne Lechler Osborn, Merrill Wagner, Cable Griffith, Isaac Layman, Chauney Peck, Laura Ward, Catherine Grisez, Justin R. Lytle, Michael Peterson, Kinu Watanabe, Noah Grussgott, Allison Manch, Juniper Shuey, Jason Hirata, Cathy McClure, Anne Siems, Todd Horton,

Chris McMullen and Evert Sodergren.

The donating artists to the auction themselves voted for the Artist Choice Merit Award for outstanding achievement. This year’s winner is Rick Araluce.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.
blog comments powered by Disqus

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates